Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Sunna Gunnlaugs: Cielito Lindo

Sunna Gunnlaugs
Cielito Lindo (SunnySky Records, 2015)
Sunna Gunnlaugs (piano)
Þorgrímur Jónsson (bass)
Scott McLemore (drums)

Another beautiful stroke from the very understated Icelandic pianist. I have been an immense fan for a few years now. Cielito Lindo is a steady, rhythmic and colourful session that stays with you few hours after each listen.

"Cielito Lindo," sets the adventurous tone as the group further explores Spanish rthyhms throughout each of its recent releases. "Dry Cycle," is another evidence of Gunnlaugs playful nature but with exact precisions and contemplative construction from both Jonsson and McLemore. It's probably one of my favorite Gunnalaugs pieces across all of her records.

"Icelandic Blues" and "Summertime" are both tight and different prospectives for Gunnaluags trio. "Icelandic Blues" showcases the trios swift ability move from intricate blues, gospel tinge to slight frenetic improvisation and back again. Sublime. While "Summertime" is a different animal altogether. An almost experimental deconstruction of the Gershwin standard. This is where Jonsson and McLemore shine and Gunnlaugs shows (for me at least) that she is reaching Keith Jarrett highest in her performances.

Cielito Lindo is another powerful and emotional piece of work in the cannon of Sunna Gunnlaugs material. I am hoping as her music becomes more important overseas that more US listener realize that there is another important musician on the scene.